Contact Information
Doug Harris

Yolanda Fleming

TSON receives third NLN COE re-designation in Nursing Education

The Trinitas School of Nursing (TSON) has again been designated as a National League for Nursing (NLN) Center of Excellence (COE) for the years 2015–2020 in the category of "Creating Environments that Enhance Student Learning and Professional Development." This is the School of Nursing's third consecutive COE designation in this category since 2008.

The National League for Nursing states, "Trinitas has remained committed to its long term goals of open access and of increasing opportunities for the educational mobility of a culturally diverse student body. Through a series of strategic plans, Trinitas has been able to sustain initiatives that enhance the students'learning environment and promote their professional growth. Faculty development programs, partnerships with institutions of higher learning, faculty commitment to full integration of technology and a robust and caring support system that provides students with the tools to help them succeed and advance to the next level of nursing education are in place ("

Trinitas' School of Nursing was the first hospital-based nursing school in the country to receive the NLN's Center of Excellence designation for 2008–2011 in the student learning and professional development category and was re-designated for 2011 – 2015. The institution was also the first nursing school in the United States to have 100% of its eligible faculty certified with the NLN Certification in Nursing Education (CNE) credential.

The NLN invites nursing schools to apply for COE status based on their ability to demonstrate in concrete, measurable terms sustained excellence in faculty development, nursing education research, or student learning and professional development. Schools, and now with the new category, health care organizations, must also have a proven commitment to continuous quality improvement. Throughout the four or more years that institutions carry the COE designation, the NLN expects those institutions to serve as advisers and sounding boards to others that seek to gain COE distinction.


About Trinitas School of Nursing
Trinitas School of Nursing conducts a Cooperative Nursing Program with Union County College and confers a Diploma in Nursing from Trinitas and an Associate Degree from the College. Initially offering nursing studies as the Elizabeth General Medical Center School of Nursing, Trinitas School of Nursing has been in continuous operation since 1891. The Cooperative Nursing Program offers a Diploma in Nursing from Trinitas School of Nursing and an Associate in Science Degree from Union County College upon successful completion of the curriculum. Fully accredited by the New Jersey State Board of Nursing and the Accreditation Commission for Nursing Education, Inc., the program offers a basic course of study in nursing. It provides a sound theoretical base of knowledge in the nursing, biological, behavioral and sociological sciences and integrates this knowledge into academic and practical experiences within the health and illness continuum of client care. Utilization of a variety of health care agencies facilitates the application of all aspects of the students’ learning. Students earn a total of 75 credits in the Cooperative Nursing Program. Upon graduation, students are eligible to sit for the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX) for Registered Nurse Licensure. For information about the program of study at Trinitas School of Nursing, call 908-659-5200.

Posted: November 5, 2015

< Back to All Press Releases



Email Us

225 Williamson St., Elizabeth, NJ 07202  908-994-5000

 Site Index


Home   About Us   Contact Us   Find Us   Centers of Excellence   Departments & Services   News & Info